Craig Nolly and Richard Toon - Abacus New Plymouth

Craig comes to us. He’s listened to our goals, our investment needs and our insurance needs & he’s sold us products that fit best to suit our lifestyle.
Louis & Barbara Kuriger

Craig has really looked after us, He’s gone and got the best deals. That’s his job.
Ross & Shelley Clark

Dealing with a specialist company like Abacus is vital. That relationship thing is absolutely important because you know someone is going to bat for you.
Steve Day, MD Pace Engineering

I am truly grateful to Jamie and consider myself extraordinarily fortunate to have received the benefit of his astute advice and assistance.
- J. F. Pickett

It has felt very good to know we have Richard and the team at Abacus Group Ltd on our side.
- Brian and Tracey Downes

Richard bent over backwards in his endeavours to help us every step of the way through the claim, making the process as simple as possible.
- John & Carole Lynskey

Holiday of a lifetime became a descent into hell

Abacus Values
Mar 20, 2013

Dairy Industry Awards 2013

Kenneth & Rachel Short

Abacus Group is proud to be the continuing Gold Sponsor of the Taranaki and Waikato Dairy Industry Awards. The awards dinners held up in Waikato on the 8th March 2013 and Taranaki on the 16th March 2013 showcased an array of current talent and success as well as promising up and comings within the agricultural industry.

The 2013 Taranaki Sharemilker/Equity Farmers of the Year, Rachel and Kenneth Short, have become the first family to claim two generations of success in the awards. In 1987, Rachel's parents, Barbara and Louis Kuriger won the Taranaki Sharemilker of the Year title. The Shorts and Kurigers are now farming in partnership, with the Shorts 20% equity partners and 25% variable order sharemilking 450 cows for Shortland Farm Ltd Partnership at Opunake.The other major winners were Michael Kavanagh and Rowena Duncum, the region’s Farm Managers of the Year, and Daniel Regtien, the 2013 Taranaki Dairy Trainee of the Year.

Sharemilker/Equity Farmer Merit Awards:Abacus Group Ltd James Thompson with Bryce & Amanda Savage
• Reeves Middleton Young Innovation Award – Warren & Mary Patterson
• Taranaki DIA Variable Order Cup – Aaron & Olivia Waite 
• Abacus Group Ltd Strategic Management Award – Bryce & Amanda Savage
• DairyNZ Human Resources Award –  Rachel & Kenneth Short  
• Ecolab Farm Dairy Hygiene Award –  Bryce & Amanda Savage  
• Federated Farmers of New Zealand Leadership Award – Ben & Belinda Price   
• Honda Farm Safety and Health Award – Ben & Belinda Price    
• LIC Recording and Productivity Award – Warren & Mary Patterson    
• Meridian Energy Farm Environment Award – Rachel & Kenneth Short     
• Ravensdown Pasture Performance Award – Josh Cooper & Alex Smith    
• Westpac Business Performance Award –  Rachel & Kenneth Short  

Farm Manager Merit Awards:
• NZ Farmers Livestock – Livestock Award –  Ben Carter
• AgITO Human Resource Management Award – Leighton Swan   
• Fonterra Best Practice Award – Carey Duggan    
• RD1 Farm Management Award – Michael Kavanagh & Rowena Duncum   
• Westpac Financial Planning and Management Award – Sergio Valverde-Nandin & Kaelee Alexander   

Dairy Trainee Merit Awards:
• DairyNZ Practical Skills Award –  William Harris  
• New Zealand Dairy Exporter Farming Knowledge Award –  Jayden Harvey
• Promising Future – Industry Acknowledgement Award – Kane Hughes 

Dairy Trainee of the year Thomas Herbert, Sharemilkers of the Year Andrew and Michelle McPherson, and Farm Manager of the Year Gary McFarlane
The 2013 Waikato Sharemilker/Equity Farmer of the Year title, Andrew and Michelle McPherson are well positioned to attract business growth opportunities.It was the first time the Te Awamutu farmers had entered the awards. “We entered to gain a better understanding of our business and of what we both contribute, as well as to sharpen our game and position ourselves for future opportunities,” they said.

The other big winners at the 2013 Waikato Dairy Industry Awards were Gary McFarlane, winner of the Waikato Farm Manager of the Year, and Thomas Herbert, the 2013 Waikato Dairy Trainee of the Year. Andrew and Michelle McPherson are 50% sharemilking 500 cows for brothers Michael and Donald Macky and are in their ninth season 50% sharemilking, having progressively grown their business every three years.

The 2013 Waikato Farm Manager of the Year, Gary McFarlane, is keen tDan & Michelle Brice, the third place winners for SEFOTY, with Jamie Toon, Abacus Group Ltdo help new and young people progress in the dairy industry. Aged just 25 years himself, it was the third time the Cambridge farm manager had entered the awards, doing so to further his skills, knowledge and involvement in the dairy industry. He is currently managing a 900 cow farm for Kevin and Gillian Monk. Second place in the 2013 Waikato Farm Manager of the Year went to Tokoroa contract milker James Heke, and third went to Morrinsville contract milker Clem Schollum.

Second place in the dairy trainee contest went to Matamata assistant Daniel Duncan, while Matamata trainee Stephanie Broomfield placed third.

Sharemilker/Equity Farmer Merit Awards:
• Effluent and Irrigation Design First Time Entrant Award – Andrew & Michelle McPherson  
• Blackman Spargo Legal Audit Award – Aaron Price  
• DairyNZ Human Resources Award – Andrew & Michelle McPherson 
• Ecolab Farm Dairy Hygiene Award – Mark & Cathy Nicholas 
• Federated Farmers of New Zealand Leadership Award – Mark & Cathy Nicholas 
• Honda Farm Safety and Health Award – Aaron Price  
• LIC Recording and Productivity Award – Aaron Price  
• Meridian Energy Farm Environment Award – Aaron Price   
• Ravensdown Pasture Performance Award – Aaron Price 
• Westpac Business Performance Award – Andrew & Michelle McPherson 

Farm Manager Merit Awards:
• NRM Most Promising Farm Manager Award – Nic Coppard
• Anexa Animal Health Livestock Management Award  – James Heke 
• AgITO Human Resource Management Award – Clem Schollum 
• Fonterra Best Practice Award – Gary McFarlane  
• RD1 Farm Management Award – Gary McFarlane 
• Westpac Financial Planning and Management Award – Kaylea Pamment

Dairy Trainee Merit Awards:
• DairyNZ Practical Skills Award – Daniel Duncan 
• The Dairy Exporter Farming Knowledge Award – Tara Miller

Recent News

  • Feb 5, 2019

    Happy Waitangi Day!




  • knee-replacement-a00088c0ba63cffb93bbf5eb160d57b6.jpg
    Mar 6, 2017
    Here are $1,140,000,000 reasons to have Health or Medical Insurance!

Our Blog

  • file-23_Optimised-9ac77fd793b83fcedaf3c05a68607ff4.jpeg
    Aug 16, 2018
    Craig Nolly and Richard Toon are in Cuba, celebrating 30 years in business together and 20 years since they formed Abacus Group, an insurance advisory business. Their wives Caroline Nolly and Grazia Toon are with them. Then a catastrophe strikes Craig down and he nearly dies.
  • hospital-sign-cuba-b0d68242b50171aa92c3fd7d9663f676.jpg
    Aug 16, 2018


    The provincial hospital in Matanzas where Craig had three emergency surgeries looked good from the outside, but standards, experience and facilities were extremely lacking.

  • Grazia with the Toons-abacus-9bb970c7bf440ec7406f6ceae5be0d8f.jpg
    Aug 16, 2018


    Richard: “Remember virtually nobody could speak English and we had no Spanish. There was also an underlying culture we didn’t know about until later, that you just had to go along with the system. Being loud and pushy wouldn’t work, we just had to be very patient.